All Things Considered http://www.kunc.org en Senate Control May Swing On North Carolina's Unpopularity Contest http://www.kunc.org/post/senate-control-may-swing-north-carolinas-unpopularity-contest North Carolina is one of the half-dozen states <a href="http://fivethirtyeight.com/datalab/six-consistently-close-races-will-probably-decide-control-of-the-senate/" target="_blank">that could cost the Democrats their majority in the Senate</a> this November, and both contenders in the race are hoping to capitalize on a backlash.<p>Democratic incumbent Kay Hagan wants voters to punish her Republican challenger Thom Tillis, the speaker of the North Carolina House, for <a href="http://www.politico.com/story/2013/07/north-carolina-abortion-bill-pat-mccory-94256.html" target="_blank">unpopular stat Thu, 21 Aug 2014 23:26:00 +0000 Ailsa Chang 59709 at http://www.kunc.org Senate Control May Swing On North Carolina's Unpopularity Contest Who Are The Protesters Getting Arrested In Ferguson? http://www.kunc.org/post/who-are-protesters-getting-arrested-ferguson There was nobody at the QuikTrip on Thursday — that's the gas station and convenience store that burned down on the first night of violent protests in Ferguson, Mo. It was once a focal point for protesters.<p>On Thursday, Missouri Gov. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 21:41:00 +0000 59708 at http://www.kunc.org Who Are The Protesters Getting Arrested In Ferguson? How To Sell Diverse Books: A Bookstore Owner's Advice http://www.kunc.org/post/how-sell-diverse-books-bookstore-owners-advice This week we've been exploring the question of diversity in the publishing industry.<p>From the classrooms of M.F.A. writing programs to the corporate offices of the big Manhattan publishers, NPR's Lynn Neary has reported on why there is an absence of people of color across the industry. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 21:09:00 +0000 NPR Staff 59706 at http://www.kunc.org How To Sell Diverse Books: A Bookstore Owner's Advice Why Ebola Is Making It Harder To Provide Good Health Care http://www.kunc.org/post/why-ebola-making-it-harder-provide-good-health-care The Ebola virus has killed more than 1,300 people in West Africa, but the indirect deaths caused by this epidemic are likely to be far worse. Right now, it's the rainy season. And that means it's high season for malaria.<p>"Probably 85 percent of the fevers right now are malaria," says Laura Miller, health coordinator in Sierra Leone for the <a href="http://www.rescue.org/ebola-outbreak-crisis-response">International Rescue Committee</a>. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Richard Harris 59705 at http://www.kunc.org Why Ebola Is Making It Harder To Provide Good Health Care BREAKING: British Burn Washington ... 2 Centuries Ago http://www.kunc.org/post/breaking-british-burn-washington-2-centuries-ago Two hundred years ago this week, during the War of 1812, invading British troops destroyed two of the nation's most important buildings — the White House and the Capitol. The war had started over issues of tariffs and the taking of American sailors on the high seas; by the summer of 1814, British fighters were in middle of a campaign burning and looting along the coast.<p>Unfortunately, there was no recorded sound from that time, so for help in our storytelling we imagined how NPR might have covered the burning of Washington, D.C., had we been on the scene two centuries ago. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:24:00 +0000 NPR staff 59707 at http://www.kunc.org BREAKING: British Burn Washington ... 2 Centuries Ago