Hansi Lo Wang http://www.kunc.org en New York's 'Night Of Birmingham Horror' Sparked A Summer Of Riots http://www.kunc.org/post/new-yorks-night-birmingham-horror-sparked-summer-riots It was called "<a href="http://www.nytimes.com/1964/07/20/violence-flares-again-in-harlem.html?_r=0" target="_blank">New York's night of Birmingham horror</a>."<p>Just over two weeks after the <a href="http://apps.npr.org/behind-the-civil-rights-act/#/annotations" target="_blank">landmark Civil Rights Act</a> was signed into law in 1964, violence erupted in the streets of New York City, lasting a total of six nights. It was the first in a series of riots that would come to define the later years of the 1960s civil rights movement. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 23:54:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 58933 at http://www.kunc.org New York's 'Night Of Birmingham Horror' Sparked A Summer Of Riots Was The Green Turtle The First Asian-American Superhero? http://www.kunc.org/post/was-green-turtle-first-asian-american-superhero For the first time since the 1940s, the Green Turtle is returning to comic bookshelves. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 09:18:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 58841 at http://www.kunc.org Was The Green Turtle The First Asian-American Superhero? 'Without Tommy, There's No Ramones' http://www.kunc.org/post/without-tommy-theres-no-ramones Punk rock music has lost one of its earliest pioneers.<p>Tommy Ramone <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/12/330893277/tommy-ramone-last-original-member-of-the-ramones-dies-at-62">died of cancer on Friday</a> at his home in Queens, N.Y. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 58805 at http://www.kunc.org 'Without Tommy, There's No Ramones' Language Barriers Pose Challenges For Mayan Migrant Children http://www.kunc.org/post/language-barriers-pose-challenges-mayan-migrant-children Among the tens of thousands of unaccompanied minors who have come from Central America this year are children who speak little or no Spanish. Many are from Guatemala's indigenous communities, who speak more than 20 different Mayan languages.<p>Rafael Domingo, 16, grew up in Guatemala speaking Q'anjob'al, sometimes referred to as Kanjobal. The youngest son of a single mother, he rode a bus, walked for miles and crossed a river before he was stopped at the Texas border.<p>"It was so difficult to come to this country," Domingo says through an interpreter.<p>His journey in the U.S. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 23:01:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 58468 at http://www.kunc.org Language Barriers Pose Challenges For Mayan Migrant Children 50 Years Ago, Freedom Summer Began By Training For Battle http://www.kunc.org/post/50-years-ago-freedom-summer-began-training-battle Idealism drove hundreds of college students to Mississippi 50 years ago.<p>In 1964, <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/08/02/206813091/to-60s-civil-rights-hero-math-is-kids-formula-for-success" target="_blank">civil rights activist Bob Moses</a> led the campaign to register black voters and educate black children in that state. Sat, 14 Jun 2014 12:57:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 57765 at http://www.kunc.org 50 Years Ago, Freedom Summer Began By Training For Battle