Iowa Caucuses http://www.kunc.org en Newt Sued, Iowa GOP Leader Resigns, Romney Gains But Loses And More http://www.kunc.org/post/newt-sued-iowa-gop-leader-resigns-romney-gains-loses-and-more A few of Tuesday's politically related attention-grabbing headlines:<p>Newt Gingrich was <a href="http://www.tmz.com/2012/01/30/newt-gingrich-eye-of-the-tiger-sued-survivor/#.TyhipMWOXXp">sued by a songwriter</a> from the group Survivor for using without permission the song "Eye of the Tiger" at campaign appearances.<p>The chairman of Iowa's Republican Party, Matt Strawn, <a href="http://blogs.desmoinesregister.com/dmr/index.php/2012/01/31/breaking-iowa-gop-chairman-matt-strawn-to-step-down-next-week/">announced he will step down</a> next week amid controversy over the tight results of the GOP Tue, 31 Jan 2012 22:22:25 +0000 Frank James 21676 at http://www.kunc.org Iowa GOP Officially Declares Santorum The Iowa Caucus Winner http://www.kunc.org/post/iowa-gop-officially-declares-santorum-iowa-caucus-winner Rick Santorum is officially the winner of the Jan. 3 Iowa Republican presidential caucus. The state Republican Party reversed itself from a previous assertion that it would not declare one, given problems at eight precincts, as <a href="http://caucuses.desmoinesregister.com/2012/01/19/register-exclusive-2012-gop-caucus-count-unresolved/"><em>The Des Moines Register</em> reported</a>.<p>In a news release late Friday, the party said it called the race "in order to clarify conflicting reports and to affirm the results released Jan. Sat, 21 Jan 2012 05:31:00 +0000 Dana Farrington 21141 at http://www.kunc.org Iowa Republicans To The GOP: Please Don't Ask Us Who Won http://www.kunc.org/post/iowa-republicans-gop-please-dont-ask-us-who-won How embarrassing for Iowa GOP officials. How embarrassing for Iowa Republicans as a party. How embarrassing for Iowa.<p>But on the other hand, who told the world to hold its breath earlier this month, awaiting the latest word on who had edged ahead in the Iowa caucuses?<p>That would have been us. The news folks. Thu, 19 Jan 2012 23:16:00 +0000 Ron Elving 21071 at http://www.kunc.org Iowa Republicans To The GOP: Please Don't Ask Us Who Won GOP Presidential Race: Perry's Status, Iowa Results http://www.kunc.org/post/gop-presidential-race-perrys-status-iowa-results There are reports Thursday that Texas Gov. Rick Perry will leave the GOP presidential race, and Iowa officials announced final results of the state's Republican presidential nominating caucuses held earlier this month. Thu, 19 Jan 2012 14:54:00 +0000 Don Gonyea & Renee Montagne 21034 at http://www.kunc.org Iowa 'Split Decision' Ominous Sign For Romney As Gingrich Gains Ground http://www.kunc.org/post/iowa-split-decision-ominous-sign-romney-gingrich-gains-ground <em>(This post was retopped with the latest news at 11:04 a.m.) </em><p>With the South Carolina primary just two days away, Mitt Romney woke up to some troubling news on Thursday: The Iowa Republican Party revisited his Jan. 3 victory in the caucuses.<p>Party officials announced that a <a href="http://iowagop.org/" target="_blank">final certification of the votes</a> actually put Rick Santorum ahead by 34 votes. Thu, 19 Jan 2012 13:54:00 +0000 21028 at http://www.kunc.org Iowa 'Split Decision' Ominous Sign For Romney As Gingrich Gains Ground