Utah http://www.kunc.org en National Guard Continues Rebuilding Food Damaged Roads http://www.kunc.org/post/national-guard-continues-rebuilding-food-damaged-roads <p>Around 75 engineers from the Kansas National Guard are on their way to Colorado to relieve members of the Montana National Guard working to rebuild flood damaged roads. The main focus of the National Guard units is the rebuilding of Highway 36 from Lyons to Estes Park.</p><p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 19:22:28 +0000 Nathan Heffel 50804 at http://www.kunc.org National Guard Continues Rebuilding Food Damaged Roads Some States Allowed To Reopen National Parks — And Foot The Bill http://www.kunc.org/post/some-states-allowed-reopen-national-parks-and-foot-bill "This is a godsend!" exclaimed Utah Gov. Gary Herbert late Thursday night, as he signed an agreement with the Department of the Interior to use state funds to reopen eight national park areas in his state for at least 10 days.<p>The Republican governor wasted no time in wiring $1.67 million to Washington overnight so that some of the areas can open as early as today. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 16:56:00 +0000 Howard Berkes 50669 at http://www.kunc.org Some States Allowed To Reopen National Parks — And Foot The Bill Feds To Consider State Funding To Reopen National Parks http://www.kunc.org/post/feds-consider-state-funding-reopen-national-parks With <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/10/10/231440270/report-parks-shutdown-saps-750-million-in-visitor-spending">economic impacts mounting</a> and one Utah county <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/10/09/231086726/county-in-utah-threatens-takeover-of-national-park-areas">threatening to take over national parks</a>, Interior Secretary Sally Jewell says she will "consider agreements with governors" to allow state funding of national parks so that some can reopen to visitors.<p>Details are sketchy, but the agency "will begin conversations about how to proceed as e Thu, 10 Oct 2013 21:51:00 +0000 Howard Berkes 50644 at http://www.kunc.org Feds To Consider State Funding To Reopen National Parks Booting Up: New NSA Data Farm Takes Root In Utah http://www.kunc.org/post/booting-new-nsa-data-farm-takes-root-utah The National Security Agency won't say exactly when it will fully rev up its <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/06/10/190160772/amid-data-controversy-nsa-builds-its-biggest-data-farm" target="_blank">newest and biggest data farm</a> in the Salt Lake City suburb of Bluffdale, Utah. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 21:54:00 +0000 Howard Berkes 49964 at http://www.kunc.org Booting Up: New NSA Data Farm Takes Root In Utah Newly Discovered Dinosaur Sure Had One 'Supersize Schnoz' http://www.kunc.org/post/newly-discovered-dinosaur-sure-had-one-supersize-schnoz The Proceedings of the Royal Society <a href="http://rspb.royalsocietypublishing.org/content/280/1766/20131186.full" target="_blank">politely refers to it</a> as a "short-snouted horned dinosaur."<p><em>National Geographic</em> is less reserved and <a href="http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2013/07/130717-new-dinosaur-utah-nasutoceratops-paleontology-animals-science/" target="_blank">gets right to the obvious point</a>: "Paleontologists have discovered a new dinosaur, a Triceratops relative with a supersize schnoz that once roamed present-day Utah."<p><a href="http://newsdesk.nhmu.utah.e Wed, 17 Jul 2013 19:20:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 47204 at http://www.kunc.org Newly Discovered Dinosaur Sure Had One 'Supersize Schnoz'