Football (soccer) http://www.kunc.org en The Time Of Our Sports Lives: How Europe's Games Neglect The Clock http://www.kunc.org/post/time-our-sports-lives-how-europes-games-neglect-clock Why is it that Europeans don't pay as much attention to time in sports as we do?<p>You American novices to soccer, who climbed on the World Cup bandwagon this summer –– you must have been completely baffled by how soccer has a thing called "stoppage time." That means that the game goes on after regulation time is up for an undisclosed period that only the referee knows. <br /> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Frank Deford 58470 at http://www.kunc.org The Time Of Our Sports Lives: How Europe's Games Neglect The Clock Deford: How To Host A Sports Extravaganza That Won't Break The Bank http://www.kunc.org/post/deford-how-host-sports-extravaganza-wont-break-bank You know, it is the 21st century, and it is possible to acknowledge that <em>and</em> make both the World Cup and the Olympics more affordable. The current waste and opulence simply aren't defensible anymore.<p>For the soccer pooh-bahs to demand that Brazil build new stadiums, costing billions of dollars, is unconscionable. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 07:26:00 +0000 Frank Deford 57898 at http://www.kunc.org Deford: How To Host A Sports Extravaganza That Won't Break The Bank Sweet Revenge: U.S. Bests Ghana, 2-1, In Its World Cup Opener http://www.kunc.org/post/sweet-revenge-us-bests-ghana-2-1-its-world-cup-opener The U.S. Men's National Team beat Ghana in the group stage of the World Cup, payback for losing to the Black Stars in the previous two World Cups.<p>Team USA captain Clint Dempsey surged past Ghana's John Boye to score 29 seconds after the start of the game, marking one of the fastest goals in World Cup history.<p>But about 20 minutes into the game, star center forward Jozy Altidore was taken off the field with a strained left hamstring, leaving the Americans short a top scorer. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 00:08:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 57871 at http://www.kunc.org Sweet Revenge: U.S. Bests Ghana, 2-1, In Its World Cup Opener Sick Of How U.S. Sports Are Run? Take A Look At Europe http://www.kunc.org/post/sick-how-us-sports-are-run-take-look-europe Complain all you want about how sports in the U.S. are run, but the playing fields aren't always greener on the other side.<p>In Europe, FIFA, the soccer federation, is dealing with problems associated with the 2022 World Cup's timing and venue. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 08:44:00 +0000 Frank Deford 50577 at http://www.kunc.org Sick Of How U.S. Sports Are Run? Take A Look At Europe Will Qatar's World Cup Games Be Played Over Workers' Bodies? http://www.kunc.org/post/will-qatars-world-cup-games-be-played-over-workers-bodies These reports this week from <em>The Guardian</em> are stunning:<p>-- <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2013/sep/26/qatar-world-cup-migrant-workers-dead" target="_blank">Qatar World Cup construction 'will leave 4,000 migrant workers dead'</a><p>-- <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/25/revealed-qatars-world-cup-slaves" target="_blank">Revealed: Qatar's World Cup 'slaves'</a><p>-- <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/27/qatar-failing-forced-labour-un" target="_blank">Qatar failing on forced labour, says UN agency</a><p>The key conclusion from th Fri, 27 Sep 2013 18:03:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 50124 at http://www.kunc.org Will Qatar's World Cup Games Be Played Over Workers' Bodies?