Indonesia http://www.kunc.org en Scientists May Have Source For A.D. 1257 'Mystery Eruption' http://www.kunc.org/post/scientists-may-have-source-ad-1257-mystery-eruption Scientists think they've identified the source of a massive volcanic eruption that occurred in A.D. Mon, 30 Sep 2013 22:59:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 50235 at http://www.kunc.org Scientists May Have Source For A.D. 1257 'Mystery Eruption' Now A Test Can Tell If Your Pricey Cup Of Cat Poop Coffee Is Fake http://www.kunc.org/post/now-test-can-tell-if-your-pricey-cup-cat-poop-coffee-fake From gross to gourmet. That pretty much sums up civet poop coffee.<p>The beans are literally harvested from the feces of the tree-dwelling civet cat in Indonesia. The idea is that a trip through the animal's digestive tract partially ferments the beans and imparts a much-sought-after flavor to the coffee.<p>The exotic processing makes the coffee, called Kopi Luwak, exceptionally rare — and expensive: Think <a href="http://www.deandeluca.com/kopi-luwak-gourmet-coffee.aspx">$600 per pound</a>. Tue, 03 Sep 2013 19:16:00 +0000 49144 at http://www.kunc.org Now A Test Can Tell If Your Pricey Cup Of Cat Poop Coffee Is Fake Volcanic Eruption In Indonesia Kills Six http://www.kunc.org/post/volcanic-eruption-indonesia-kills-six Six people have been killed by lava and ash from an erupting volcano on a tiny island in Indonesia.<p>Authorities in Indonesia say that Mount Rokatenda, a volcano that had been rumbling since last year on the island of Palue, finally erupted, spewing ash and rock three miles into the sky.<p>The hot debris from the eruption covered a nearby beach, where four adults and two children were killed.<p>The <a href="http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-23646467">BBC quotes</a> a spokesman from Indonesia's volcanology agency as saying that many villagers had become accustomed to the volcanic activity a Sat, 10 Aug 2013 18:12:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 48201 at http://www.kunc.org Volcanic Eruption In Indonesia Kills Six Trapped In Trees By Tigers, Men Rescued After Five Days http://www.kunc.org/post/trapped-trees-tigers-men-rescued-after-five-days Five days after they fled up into trees to escape a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/07/08/200012023/trapped-in-trees-by-tigers-men-rescued-after-five-days/#0001" target="_self">streak*</a> of at least four Sumatran tigers, five men were rescued Monday in the wilds of Gunung Leuser National Park on Indonesia's Sumatra Island.<p><a href="http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-23177322" target="_blank">According to the BBC</a>, dozens of rescuers were able to drive the tigers away so that the men could come down.<p>Earlier, <a href="http://www.thejakartaglobe.com/news/sumatran-tig Mon, 08 Jul 2013 15:21:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 46786 at http://www.kunc.org Trapped In Trees By Tigers, Men Rescued After Five Days A Hindu Goddess Arrives To Bless Embassy Row http://www.kunc.org/post/hindu-goddess-blesses-embassy-row Embassy Row — otherwise known as Massachusetts Avenue — in Washington, D.C., is decorated with flags of every nation, flying in front of impressive embassy buildings.<p>In front of the embassies, there are often statues of national heroes. Winston Churchill graces the grounds of the British Embassy. Outside the Indian Embassy, Mahatma Gandhi looks as though he's in full stride, clad in loincloth and sandals.<p>And now, there's a Hindu goddess. Saraswati just arrived. Sun, 30 Jun 2013 12:27:55 +0000 46493 at http://www.kunc.org A Hindu Goddess Arrives To Bless Embassy Row