Politics http://www.kunc.org en Personhood's Third Attempt Seeps Into Colorado's Close Senate Race http://www.kunc.org/post/personhoods-third-attempt-seeps-colorados-close-senate-race <p>Colorado voters will once again decide on an amendment that would give unborn babies the same constitutional and legal rights as a person. The measure is bringing out some familiar faces – it’s also impacting one of the closest U.S. Senate races in the country.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:36:13 +0000 Bente Birkeland 59073 at http://www.kunc.org Personhood's Third Attempt Seeps Into Colorado's Close Senate Race Stumping For Beauprez, Christie Stands Firm On Colorado Pot http://www.kunc.org/post/stumping-beauprez-christie-stands-firm-colorado-pot <p>While campaigning for Republican gubernatorial candidate Bob Beauprez, New Jersey Governor Chris Christie refused to back down from his <a href="http://www.politico.com/story/2014/04/chris-christie-marijuana-colorado-pot-105888.html" target="_blank">comments made earlier in 2014</a>, criticizing Colorado’s quality of life after legalizing recreational marijuana.</p><p>“We’ve got to stop in public life worrying about making everybody happy and faking it, like we’re going to agree all the time,” said Christie.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:35:05 +0000 Bente Birkeland 59034 at http://www.kunc.org Stumping For Beauprez, Christie Stands Firm On Colorado Pot Out Of Public Eye, A Bitter Farm Bill Fight http://www.kunc.org/post/out-public-eye-bitter-farm-bill-fight <p>The “who” part of the Farm Bill is pretty clear.</p><p>With trillions dollars of government spending up for grabs, lobbyists from all ends of the spectrum – representing environmental interests, biotech companies, food companies, farmers – flocked to Capitol Hill to find their piece of the Farm Bill pie.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Jeremy Bernfeld & Harvest Public Media 58851 at http://www.kunc.org Out Of Public Eye, A Bitter Farm Bill Fight Lobbyists Of All Kinds Flock To Farm Bill http://www.kunc.org/post/lobbyists-all-kinds-flock-farm-bill <p>When U.S. Sen. Debbie Stabenow <a href="http://harvestpublicmedia.org/article/years-making-new-farm-bill-becomes-law">announced passage of the Farm Bill</a> in February, she echoed a refrain from a car commercial.</p><p>“This is not your father’s Farm Bill,” she said.</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Peggy Lowe & Harvest Public Media 58849 at http://www.kunc.org Lobbyists Of All Kinds Flock To Farm Bill New Ad Campaign Aims To Persuade Pols Conservation Matters http://www.kunc.org/post/new-ad-campaign-aims-persuade-pols-conservation-matters <p>Western voters have <a href="http://www.kunc.org/post/support-renewable-energy-conservation-may-help-2014-candidates">said they care</a> about conservation and protection of public lands.</p><p>Now, an advertising campaign by the Denver-based group Center for Western Priorities aims to persuade elected officials – and those up for election – that land and water conservation is an issue that could affect their candidacy.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:44:33 +0000 Stephanie Paige Ogburn 58897 at http://www.kunc.org New Ad Campaign Aims To Persuade Pols Conservation Matters