Qatar http://www.kunc.org en Sick Of How U.S. Sports Are Run? Take A Look At Europe http://www.kunc.org/post/sick-how-us-sports-are-run-take-look-europe Complain all you want about how sports in the U.S. are run, but the playing fields aren't always greener on the other side.<p>In Europe, FIFA, the soccer federation, is dealing with problems associated with the 2022 World Cup's timing and venue. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 08:44:00 +0000 Frank Deford 50577 at http://www.kunc.org Sick Of How U.S. Sports Are Run? Take A Look At Europe Will Qatar's World Cup Games Be Played Over Workers' Bodies? http://www.kunc.org/post/will-qatars-world-cup-games-be-played-over-workers-bodies These reports this week from <em>The Guardian</em> are stunning:<p>-- <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2013/sep/26/qatar-world-cup-migrant-workers-dead" target="_blank">Qatar World Cup construction 'will leave 4,000 migrant workers dead'</a><p>-- <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/25/revealed-qatars-world-cup-slaves" target="_blank">Revealed: Qatar's World Cup 'slaves'</a><p>-- <a href="http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/27/qatar-failing-forced-labour-un" target="_blank">Qatar failing on forced labour, says UN agency</a><p>The key conclusion from th Fri, 27 Sep 2013 18:03:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 50124 at http://www.kunc.org Will Qatar's World Cup Games Be Played Over Workers' Bodies? Despite Repeated Tries, Afghan Peace Efforts Still Sputter http://www.kunc.org/post/despite-repeated-tries-afghan-peace-efforts-still-sputter The U.S. has been pushing the Taliban and the Afghan government to find a political solution for the past year and a half. But every time it seems the parties are close to starting peace talks, a new demand or controversy arises and nothing happens.<p>In the latest attempt, the Taliban finally opened a political office in Qatar, a move that was supposed to set the stage for negotiations. Sun, 14 Jul 2013 07:09:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 47048 at http://www.kunc.org Despite Repeated Tries, Afghan Peace Efforts Still Sputter Qatar's Emir Transfers Power To His Son http://www.kunc.org/post/qatars-emir-transfers-power-his-son Qatar's monarch, Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, handed over the reins of power this morning to his 33-year-old son, Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani.<p><a href="http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-06-24/qatar-s-emir-to-hand-over-power-to-son-al-jazeera-says-1-.html">Bloomberg reports</a>:<p><blockquote><p>"'The time has come to turn a new page in our country's journey and see a new generation assume responsibility,' Sheikh Hamad said in an address to the nation. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 13:06:00 +0000 46277 at http://www.kunc.org Qatar's Emir Transfers Power To His Son 'Friends Of Syria' Countries Meet To Map Out Arming Rebels http://www.kunc.org/post/friends-syria-countries-meet-map-out-arming-rebels <strong>Update At 11:30 a.m. ET:</strong><p>Secretary of State John Kerry called the current situation in Syria "unacceptable by anyone's standard" and lashed out at the government of President Bashar al-Assad for using Hezbollah in the fight against rebels.<p>"Assad chose to raise the stakes militarily," Kerry said. Sat, 22 Jun 2013 12:55:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 46160 at http://www.kunc.org 'Friends Of Syria' Countries Meet To Map Out Arming Rebels