Nutrition Diet & Health http://www.kunc.org en Key Chain Blood-Alcohol Testing May Make Quantified Drinking Easy http://www.kunc.org/post/keychain-breathalyzers-may-make-quantified-drinking-easy While testing whether a <a href="seamus.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2014/07/02/327854051/alcohol-test-can-you-control-your-intoxication-by-eating-yeast">dash of yeast</a> could keep you from getting drunk, we discovered that it's pretty entertaining — and revealing — to track your blood alcohol while drinking.<p>Using a device to test blood-alcohol levels, we watched the alcohol in our bodies soar as we drank two beers on empty stomachs. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 20:44:00 +0000 Eliza Barclay 59080 at http://www.kunc.org Key Chain Blood-Alcohol Testing May Make Quantified Drinking Easy The Epic 2,200-Mile Tour De France Is Also A Test Of Epic Eating http://www.kunc.org/post/epic-2200-mile-tour-de-france-also-test-epic-eating The famously grueling cycling race involves about 2,200 miles of furious pedaling, huge mountain climbs and downhill sprints at 50-plus miles per hour. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:16:00 +0000 59022 at http://www.kunc.org The Epic 2,200-Mile Tour De France Is Also A Test Of Epic Eating White House Fetes 54 Kids With Serious Cooking Chops http://www.kunc.org/post/white-house-fetes-54-kids-serious-cooking-chops It's not easy to snag an invite to a White House State Dinner.<p>So, imagine how 54 children — one from each state, U.S. territory and the District of Columbia — felt being honored in the elegant East Room by the President and first lady at an event Friday afternoon billed as a Kids State Dinner.<p>The pee-wee honorees were <a href="http://www.letsmove.gov/kids-state-dinner-winners">the winners</a> of the Healthy Lunchtime Challenge, a nationwide recipe contest for kids tied to the first lady's Let's Move Campaign. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 22:31:00 +0000 58932 at http://www.kunc.org White House Fetes 54 Kids With Serious Cooking Chops Soylent DIYers Sell Their Own Versions Of The Powdered Food http://www.kunc.org/post/soylent-diyers-sell-their-own-versions-powdered-food When Rob Rhinehart first created <a href="http://soylent.me" target="_blank">Soylent</a> –– a powdered, synthetic food product made of <a href="http://www.soylent.me/#nutrition">industrial nutrients and oils </a>–– he was a San Francisco techie trying to sustain himself cheaply without the inconveniences of grocery shopping, cooking or even eating.<p>His initial blog posts attracted the attention of Hacker News and members of the "lifehacking" community, who rallied around his DIY approach to concocting a nutritious food powder to live on. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 16:01:00 +0000 58921 at http://www.kunc.org Soylent DIYers Sell Their Own Versions Of The Powdered Food This Dirty Little Weed May Have Cleaned Up Ancient Teeth http://www.kunc.org/post/dirty-little-weed-may-have-cleaned-ancient-teeth The menus of millennia past can be tough to crack, especially when it comes to fruits and vegetables. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:07:00 +0000 58888 at http://www.kunc.org This Dirty Little Weed May Have Cleaned Up Ancient Teeth