Mon May 14, 2012
inTune Station Blog

Colorado Associated Press Recognizes KUNC

The Colorado Associated Press Broadcasters Association has recognized the KUNC Newsroom and reporters Grace Hood and Kirk Siegler with four awards at the 2012 Colorado Broadcasters Association Awards.

News Staffers Brian Larson, Kirk Siegler, Grace Hood and Erin O’Toole received a first place award for Best Short-Form Newscast. Reporter Grace Hood was recognized in the Investigative Reporting category with a first place award for her story examining on-line schools and the state funding they receive.

Kirk Siegler received first place honors in the General Reporting category for a story detailing how the state was reacting to a horse killing virus. Siegler also received a second place award in the Best Feature category for his story on the new Front Range oil boom. KUNC received the awards in the Large/Medium Market category for work that was produced in 2011.

The KUNC news department has also been recognized this year with one award from the Colorado Broadcasters Association and six regional Edward R. Murrow awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association.