Wed April 10, 2013

Farmers In Drought Stricken Colorado Counties Eligible For Aid

Five Colorado counties have been declared natural disaster areas due to drought by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Colorado's U.S. Senator Michael Bennet announced the designations Wednesday.

“Drought conditions continue to persist in Colorado and across much of West, and forecasters are predicting another hot and dry summer that will make it difficult on producers in our state,” Bennet said in a statement.

The 5 Colorado Counties Declared Disaster Areas:

  • Jackson
  • Larimer
  • Moffat
  • Routt
  • Weld

The designations make farmers and ranchers eligible for low interested emergency loan assistance from the USDA's Farm Service Agency.

Those residing in the eligible counties have 8 months from the date of declaration to apply for assistance.

Related Program