Mon June 25, 2012

Wildfires: Rocky Mountain Area Considered Level 5

Officials have declared that the Rocky Mountain area has moved to preparedness level 5, which is the most severe on the scale.


A level 5 preparedness level has met these conditions:

  • Multiple Type I, II, or III incidents occurring.
  • All FTC resources are committed to incidents or preparedness activities.
  • Heavy competition for regional and national resources.
  • Most resource orders will take more than 24 hours to fill.
  • 7-14 day weather predictions do not call for any immediate relief.

The Rocky Mountain area includes the entire states of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, most of Wyoming and a small portion of North Dakota. Colorado has experienced several days of red flag warnings, which means high heat and low humidity.

The FTC Area Preparedness Plan Levels are embedded below: