© 2024
NPR for Northern Colorado
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Colorado Towns Cancel 4th of July Fireworks

Steve Hicks
Flickr - Creative Commons

Colorado communities have canceled their 4th of July firework displays, and now entire counties have joined them.

Update 11:00 am 7/2/12

As the risk of fire remains high closer to the holiday, many more towns and counties have canceled their 4th of July firework displays, including Fort Collins and all of Arapahoe and Douglas counties.

Communities that have canceled or postponed their 4th of July firework displays:

  • Arapahoe County
  • Aspen
  • Avon
  • Aurora
  • Black Hawk
  • Boulder
  • Breckenridge
  • Brush
  • Castle Rock
  • Colorado Springs
  • Creede
  • Crested Butte
  • Cripple Creek
  • Dillion
  • Douglas County
  • Durango
  • Edgewater
  • Englewood
  • Estes Park
  • Fort Collins
  • Frisco
  • Georgetown
  • Glendale
  • Glenwood Springs
  • Golden
  • Grand Junction
  • Grand Lake
  • Green Valley Ranch
  • Idaho Springs
  • Indian Hills
  • Keystone
  • La Junta
  • Lafayette
  • Lakewood
  • Littleton
  • Lone Tree
  • Longmont
  • Louisville
  • Manitou Springs
  • Montrose
  • Ouray
  • Parker
  • Pueblo
  • Red Feather Lakes
  • Silverton
  • Steamboat Springs
  • Telluride
  • Vail
  • Westminster

Aspen, Breckenridge, Manitou Springs, Idaho Springs, Indian Hills, Keystone, Georgetown, Ouray, Steamboat Springs and now Boulder have cited the high fire danger across the state as being the predominant reason to cancel.

Boulder Fire Marshall Dave Lowrey said “We know it’s disappointing to celebrate the Fourth of July without fireworks, but it would be a real tragedy if we went forward and someone’s home caught fire as a result.”

The city of Longmont is still scheduled to host their firework display. Longmont has also allowed the sale of  fireworks to the public within city limits through July 4th. Legal fireworks are defined as "smoking, crackling and whistling" items that don't leave the ground and don't explode, according to the city's website.

Fireworks are illegal outside Longmont's city limits, and anyone caught risks up to a $500 fine and 90 days in jail under fire restrictions the Boulder County Sheriff's Office ordered for all unincorporated parts of the county in June. 

Estes Park is also scheduled to have its firework display despite the Woodland Heights fire in the area, which burned over 20 homes.

Colorado Springs has not yet canceled their fireworks display. 

The entire list of cities and their 4th of July firework display times and cancelations can be found here.

Related Content