© 2024
NPR for Northern Colorado
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
KUNC is here to keep you up-to-date on the news about COVID-19 — the disease caused by the novel coronavirus — Colorado's response to its spread in our state and its impact on Coloradans.

Which Colorado Cities And Counties Require Face Masks In Public?

Stephanie Daniel
A sign outside a Trader Joe's in Denver advises customers about facial covering regulations.

Across Colorado, cities and counties are requiring residents to wear masks in public. The majority of orders include wearing face masks in all public establishments and on public transit, where distancing may be difficult, and in outdoor spaces where six feet of distancing cannot be achieved.

Most orders define a face mask as any secure, multi-layered fabric that covers the nose, mouth and lower face that is also machine-washable, and doesn't restrict breathing. The rules do not apply to people who can't cover their faces due to medical restrictions.

As of May 6, masks are required in Aspen, Denver, Fort Collins, Glenwood, Lone Tree, Superior, Wheat Ridge, Summit County, Boulder County and Larimer County.

The orders, exceptions and penalties for non-compliance vary by location. Some of the differences include:

  • The city of Aspen says kids under 2 and people with relevant health conditions do not need to wear masks. Violators could face fines.
  • Boulder County says children under 12 don't have to and those under 3 should not wear masks.
  • Denver violators could face a fine.
  • Fort Collins says everyone working needs face masks and employers should try to provide one. Not wearing one is a misdemeanor.
  • Glenwood extended its order until June 4. Violators could face fines and jail time.
  • Lone Tree says businesses not enforcing compliance could lose their licenses.
  • Summit County violators could face a $5,000 fine and jail time.
  • Superior and Wheat Ridge's orders apply to everyone except those who cannot cover their face.

Related Content