Wed January 9, 2013

Drought Assistance Designated For 43 Colorado Counties

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has designated 597 counties in 14 states as primary natural disaster areas due to drought and heat. All qualified farm operators within those areas will be eligible for low-interest emergency loans.

The USDA named 43 of Colorado’s 64 counties as disaster areas due to the ongoing drought conditions.

All designated counties have shown a drought intensity value of at least D2, Drought Severe or higher for eight consecutive weeks based on U.S. Drought Monitor.

U.S. Drought Monitor map updated Jan, 1
Credit U.S. Drought Monitor

Colorado U.S. Senator Michael Bennet said today’s announcement reaffirms the need for Congress to pass the Farm Bill.

“Congress should move quickly to pass a full five-year Farm Bill that makes critical reforms to agricultural and conservation policies and will help producers manage these drought conditions.

The temporary extension passed at the end of last year due to the House of Representatives’ inaction is nothing more than a patch.

Colorado’s farmers and ranchers need certainty, and they deserve better from their representatives in Congress.”

Farmers and ranchers in the 597 counties will now be eligible for additional Farm Service Agency assistance. The FSA administers farm commodity, crop insurance, credit, environmental, conservation and emergency assistance programs for farmers and ranchers.

Colorado producers seeking assistance should contact their local Farm Service Agency office. These are the first disaster designations made by the U.S. Department of Agriculture in 2013

Related Program